Punta de Mita to Host the IX Pacific Alliance Summit|Vallarta Blog " />

Punta de Mita to Host the IX Pacific Alliance Summit

Mexico has been selected to host the IX Pacific Alliance Summit.


By Cesar Lerma

Edited by Haydé Escalante

Translated by Nyima Bieber


President Enrique Peña Nieto is set to receive his counterparts Juan Manuel Santos of Colombia; Sebastián Piñera of Chile; Ollanta Humala of Peru and Laura Chinchilla of Costa Rica on the coast of the Riviera Nayarit.

The Bay of Banderas will be charged with hosting the summit on June 19th and 20th. It will be held in various locations in Punta Mita.


Punta de Mita is one of the most renowned places in the Riviera Nayarit and was named among the five main destinations being promoted internationally by Mexico’s Tourism Board. In addition, it has become the youngest and most promising within Mexico’s extensive range of tourism offerings.


The aim of the summit is to generate conditions to encourage growth, development and competitiveness of the countries’ economies. Eventually, it seeks integration into the Asia-Pacific region, which is shaping up as a linchpin in this century’s global economy. Moreover, the Pacific Alliance seeks to diversify markets to reduce the vulnerability of member countries against any crisis.


More About the Pacific Alliance

On April 28th, 2011 the heads of state of Mexico, Chile, Colombia and Peru agreed to establish the Pacific Alliance during the Lima Summit. Their goal is to move progressively towards free movement of goods, services, capital and people.


The four founding nations make up 40% of Latin America’s GDP, and if their entire production was represented as one, they would be the sixth largest economy in the world.


¿Buscas la versión en español?


Editor's Pick